Vermont Earned Sick Time Law

Below is a letter that was sent out to Employers from the Vermont Agency of Human Services/Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living

5/23/17

Dear Employers,

In Marcy 2016, Vermont enacted its Earned Sick Time Law.  Following passage of the law, the Vermont Department of Labor (VDOL) issued the Vermont Earned Sick Time Rules to clarify practices and policies in the administration and enforcement of the law.  This law requires employers to provide their employees with earned, paid sick leave.  It states that all employers with 5 or more full-time employees must begin complying with the law on January 1, 2017.  Employers with 5 or fewer full-time employees (i.e., “small employers”) must start complying with the law on January 1, 2018.

The Agency of Human Services (AHS) and ARIS solutions (ARIS) are working together to develop a plan to implement the Vermont Earned Sick Time Law for those who employ independent direct care workers in programs administered by both the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living (DAIL) and the Vermont Department of Health (VDH).  In the upcoming months AHS, through ARIS, will provide additional information and details as to how this law will apply to you.

For questions about the new law, you may contact VDOL at 802-828-4281.  There is also information available on the VDOL website at http://labor.vermont.gov/learn-more-about-vermonts-new-earned-sick-time-law/

Thank you,

Monica Caserta Hutt, Commissioner

Department of Disabilites, Aging and Independent Living

HC2 South, 280 State Drive, Waterbury, VT  05671

 

 

 

 

2017 Fiscal Year End Dates to Remember – Developmental Services

Wednesday, July 5, 2017 – Last Day to Receive Budget Changes

Friday, July 7, 2017 – Last Day to Mail Time Sheets – Must be post-marked July 7, 2017

Monday, July 10, 2017 (by noon) – Last Day to Fax/E-mail/E-time Time Sheets

Monday, July 10, 2017 (by 4PM) – Last Day to hand deliver Time Sheets

Friday, July 14, 2017 – Last Payroll Check Date

Department of Labor Minimum Wage and Overtime Guide

Paying Minimum Wage and Overtime to Home Care Workers: A Guide for Consumers and their Families to the Fair Labor Standards Act

This user-friendly guide, developed with stakeholder input, explains who needs to follow the FLSA rules and how to follow them. The guide provides examples of situations involving hiring a home care worker directly, using a home care agency, and arranging care through a self-directed program. It discusses paid providers who are family members of the consumer and who are live-in workers.

The guide is now available on our website at http://www.dol.gov/whd/homecare/homecare_guide.htm.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR HOME CARE RULE – OVERTIME REQUIREMENTS

*********IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING THE NEW DEPARTMENT OF LABOR HOME CARE RULE AND OVERTIME REQUIREMENTS**********

Effective October 13, 2015 new Department of Labor (DOL) rules require employers pay overtime wages to many employees for hours worked beyond forty hours in a work week.  Below is a link to the DOL web site which provides critical information for employers so that they may determine whether they must pay overtime to their employees.

PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR DEPARTMENT OF LABOR OVERTIME RESOURCES

Minimum Wage Increase January 1, 2016

The State of Vermont increased the minimum wage which must be paid to employees from $9.15 an hour to $9.60 an hour effective January 1, 2016.  Most State of Vermont Consumer Directed Medicaid Programs already are required to pay a minimum of $10.80 per hour, however Veteran’s programs and Family Managed Respite Programs in Developmental Services may pay the State minimum wage to employees.

For those employers who have paid a minimum rate of $150.00 for a 24 hour period of work (allowing for 8 hours of sleep time), the new rate, based upon the new minimum wage is now $153.60.